Like many owners of private domain names, all email sent to any addresses at bowenweb.com are eventually forwarded to my email account (except those that fall victim to spam filters and filtering rules). I was a little surprised to see the following text in a message this afternoon, though:
Dear user of Bowenweb.com e-mail server gateway,
Your e-mail account has been temporary disabled because of unauthorized access.
Further details can be obtained from attached file.
For security purposes the attached file is password protected. Password is "10571".
Sincerely,
The Bowenweb.com team http://www.bowenweb.com
Of course, the attached .zip file has the Bagle.gen worm in it as you might expect. I can just imagine plenty of people falling for this one, though.
By the way, this was sent to a valid email address, so I have to guess the address was harvested from the Internet...probably the Rainbow forums.
[edit]
8-18-2004, Another variation of the email-virus trick.
I got an email that appeared to be from an acquaintance of mine (I recognized the sender's address). It was a very brief message, complaining about sending messages using plain text, and giving quick instructions on how to open the attached .zip file. Of course, the .zip file contains a virus.
On further inspection, the email isn't from anyone I know at all...the sender's address is spoofed. Since we both share a common interest (and, thus, our addresses can be found in the same place), these guys must have harvested both our addresses, then used his to try to get me to 'trust' the message enough to open the attachment.
DO NOT OPEN WEIRD ATTACHMENTS, even if they appear to be from someone you know.
Here's a screenshot of the email (I blocked out the “sender's” address with a yellow box).
[/edit]